Migration – online as in life

It has been a silent few months for Backpacks and Babygrows. Apologies for that … but rest assured behind the scenes the cogs are whirring, turning and spinning at 100 miles per hour. Things are still on track for us to leave on our travels in September (just about). The trans-siberian is booked, China accommodation is booked and everything else is in the pipeline.

I’m not going to lie, this past year has been tough. I’m working 3 jobs including a nightime one along with raising a toddler in order to achieve what I want to and I’m still flying by the seat of my pants at all times. But hey, life would be boring if everything went smoothly all the time (right?). That’s what I’m telling myself anyway.

So, to catch you up I’m now thoroughly in the process of migrating the blog over to wordpress.org in order to monetize it ready for our travels and hopefully live my dream, travelling, writing and managing to insprie other parents and single parents to grab hold with both hands and do all the things society tells you you can’t do – with a big middle finger raised to anyone who moral panics you, moralises over single parent travel or tries to supress you in any other way – I suspect if you’re a parent (or even if you’re not!) this has happened many times as you attempted to plan to leave the 9-5 rat race and live your dreams.

When I move the blog, the focus will be on professional travel articles. I will be providing full and useful travel information about my experiences tarvelling as a single parent with a small child. This will include information on how I’ve done it, the challenges I faced and how to do the budget stuff safely. This is alongside all the usual travel infomration about things to do, where to stay, where to eat and helpful culturally focussed insights. I know before I started I defintiely wondered if hostelling was going to be OK with a small child, so now I’ll be out there doing the research and passing on my wisdom for free…

All I can ask is that you follow me on this adventure, you take the information and use it to inspire you in your own life. I know so many single parents (usually Mums, but not always), who have been convinced by ‘helpful’ and ‘concerned’ third parties or have convinced themselves that they need to give up on those dreams of adventure, travel and sometimes even exotic holidays simply becasue they are solo parenting. I desperately want to take away those nerves for people and prove that travel is possible and not only is it possible, it will enrich and benefit the lives of your children in a way a school never could.

I’ll be homeschooling as we travel and eventually I plan to have a separate site with a ton of globally focused information, lesson ideas, lesson plans and work books for people to download (open source) to help with their own dreams and achievements.

Come and join me when it’s all migrated, I will post on here and will be setting up software to take my followers with me so don’t fret. Many of you have been with me from the start way back when I was still finishing my degree and I genuinely love and appreciate all that support you have given me. This year is a big one, the time is now and I couldn’t be more excited / terrified (in a good way!!).

Please engage with me, email me at backpacksandbabygrows@yahoo.co.uk  and ask me any questions you might have about anything to do with travel, single parenting and home schooling… life is nothing without friends, family and support.

Leave a Reply

